DEPRESSIVE WITCHES – French black metal band signs with Wormholedeath; Distant Kingdoms album available next month


French black metal duo, Depressive Witches, have signed Wormholedeath to their album, Distant Kingdoms, due out November 25.

The band says of the signing: “We are proud to announce the release of our new album, Distant Kingdoms, on Italian label Wormholedeath, a subdivision of Aural music.”

The band, speaking about the album, said: “We are delighted to reveal this new album, which is the perfect blend of our main influences: black’n’roll, heavy metal and classic rock. The music perfectly serves the theme of the album, which is all about epic, battles and exploring new worlds, just like we did with the songwriting. Distant Kingdoms is a black metal album with multiple influences, really rare in this genre. We kept our punky sound and mixed it with folk melodies, always in this “in your face” style, that’s why the fans loved the first album. We see duet as an intense and intimate way to play music, not as a reduction in sonic diversity, so we’re not afraid to mix all the sounds we love.

Even being just two musicians on stage, they leave nothing behind and can fill the space with their massive sound and dynamic energy.

Depressive Witches was formed in 2018 in Picardy, France, by brothers Sick Bab (Baptiste Robert) on vocals and guitar, and Torvuus (Paul Robert) on guitar and drums. Bonded by both blood and a passion for black metal and extreme metal, creating music together was natural. In 2021, they released their debut album Bad Flask, which relied heavily on the duo’s traditional black metal influences and contained lyrical themes revolving around sorcery, curses and epic battles. The release was recorded by Jonas Sanders & Ivan Houben, and mixed/mastered by Jonas Sanders at Blackout Studio, Brussels.

2022 sees a new album from the band. Distant Kingdoms was again recorded, mixed and mastered by Jonas Sänders. Unlike the first album, it pays homage to his rock influences and contains more solos and clean vocals. An anomaly in the black metal scene, it’s a mix of black metal, punk, heavy metal, happy & dark riffs, black’n’roll style but more festive and epic. Lyrically, it leans into adventures, magical battles/wars, and high fantasy that draws inspiration from RPG video games with medieval, nature, and dark magic themes.

Track list:

“Distant Kingdoms”
“In the Hall of the Sleeping King”
“Oh my dear wyvern”
“Magician! Open the doors!”
“Goblin Pit”
“Tonight I will hide my heart in space”
“Forgotten Icebergs”
“Cancel your wedding and fuck the witch”
“A land to rule”

Album trailer:

Line up:

Sick Bab – vocals, guitars
Torvuus – drums, guitars, vocals


Comments are closed.