Hypnotic Heavy Metal Band SPELL To Release New Album “Tragic Magic” On October 28


Fantastic heavy metal band SPELL will release his new LP, “Tragic Magic”October 28 via Bad Omen Files. Featuring ten top-notch progressive heavy music tracks awash with haunting atmospheres, “Tragic Magic” sees SPELL adopting a decidedly grittier lyrical approach, leaning less towards escapism, while tackling the real-life challenges of modern times. Striking cover art by Canadian artist Francesco Gemelli (Master, Esoctrilihum) hints at the palpable power the disc promises. Pre-order “Tragic Magic” at THIS LOCATION.

A first taste of this “Tragic Magic” store supplies can be ingested now SPELL unveils a video for the LP’s radiant first single “Ultraviolet”. Created by Sean Edwards for hiking movies (Freeways), the eye-catching clip features SPELL at the height of his powers. Watch the video below.

Ultraviolet” explores the hidden terror of the forces that govern us but cannot be perceived or understood,” says SPELL singer/multi-instrumentalist Cam Mesmer. “Our world is shaped by powers that the limitations of our physical bodies prevent us from directly encountering. Will we be victims of the lust for what cannot be ours, or will we exploit them to fulfill our wildest dreams?

“Tragic Magic” is the highly anticipated sequel to SPELLCritically Acclaimed 2020 LP, “opulent decay», a record hailed as «fantasy rock” by Blabbermouthenchanting” by The heavy blog is heavyand “a captivating blend of Rush- and Blue Öyster Cult” by Revolver. “Tragic Magic” was written and recorded entirely as a collaboration between brothers Cam and Al (lester); the record’s song craft is steeped in arcane atmosphere, but the hooks are sharper than ever. While influences like the esoteric charge of the above Cult of the blue oyster and the elementary expansions of camel and King Crimson drift through these twilight melodies, SPELL are just as likely to be influenced by the vital energy of 60s Motown, the ethereal dimensions of Cocteau twinsthe strident misfortune of Candlemasand the classic songwriting chops of Russ Ballard.

The themes of this album are more concrete, guided by personal experience,” offers Mesmer. “tragic magic‘ has to do with mental illness, aging, the death of a loved one, the decay of time… this is what ‘tragic magic’ means to us – loss and tragedy beyond our control, which fundamentally changes our perception of reality. This album is our response to the world as it is now: the music of an ascetic age.

And we couldn’t be happier with the outcome“, Mesmer keep on going. “The identity of SPELL came to the point as it was always intended to be. The music is magic and SPELL is a spell. Basically, it’s a forum for realizing our dreams.

“Tragic Magic” album cover

“Tragic Magic” List of tracks:

1. Fatal Breath
2. Ultraviolet
3. Hades’ Embrace
4. Fever dream
5. Sarcophagus
6. Cruel optimism
7. A Ruined Garden
8. Chained Souls
9. Observer of the Seas
10. Observation


Comments are closed.