Power/Thrash Metal Band THEM Release Music Video For “Retro 54” And Upcoming Album “Fear City”


By way of explanation: New York City was often referred to as city ​​of fear in the early 1980s. At that time, illegal prostitution, protection rackets, and drug trafficking flourished in the city, which was known for its high rates of crime and violence. For international power metal band Theirthis made the perfect setting for the sequel to their trilogy around the main protagonist KK Fossor.

What Happened in the 19th Century on their first three albums, “Sweet Hollow” (2016), “Se7en Gables Mansion” (2018) and “Return to Hemmersmoor” (2020), continues on “fear of the citybut with a time shift of 120 years featuring the descendants of the original characters. “In a word: KK Fossor tries to find the descendant of the Witchhunter, who works as a televangelist under the name of Mister Thompson in 1981 in New York”, Explain Markus Ullrichthe band’s German guitarist and creative brain.

“The City of Fear” will come out October 28, 2022 on Steam Hammer/SPVand today you can get the second taste of the album via the single ‘Retro 54’. Watch the video below.

This thrilling mix of horror story and fantasy is flanked by the usual dynamic songs mixing a hybrid of raw metal riffs, complex and often fast grooves and surprisingly catchy chorus parts.

Markus Ullrich: “It is a particularity with Their. We play tough, technically accomplished guitar parts combined with a solid core tenacity, but we don’t just bark out the chorus, but sing it very melodically. Some songs on “The City of Fear” are even heavier than expected, you could say: they really let themselves go! But our singer is fantastic, and our songs make deliberate forays into a wide range of different stylistic directions.

As per usual, “The City of Fear” succeeds in transporting its listeners to a different fictional world, in this case the year 1981. “We deliberately included keyboard sounds, small radio snippets and cross-references to the 1980s”, Explain Ullrichwhich has at its side musicians of the first order, namely: the singer KK Fossor, guitarist Markus Johansson (Quiet, 4ARM), bass player Alexander Palma and keyboardist Richie Seibel (Lanfear, Ivanhoe), and only had to enlist a new drummer in Steve Bolognese (ex-dieback, In eternity) due to the lockdown caused by the pandemic. As on previous albums, the genius of American sound David Otero oversaw mixing and drum recordings at his Flatline Audio studio in Denver, Colorado.

“The City of Fear” will be released as CD DigiPak, green vinyl LP version and CD/LP bundle with shirt (exclusive to the Steamhammer shop)

Pre-order the album at https://them.lnk.to/FearCity

“Fear City” album cover

“Fear City” Tracklist:

  1. Excito 1:48
  2. Flight of Concorde 3:48
  3. City of fear 4:12
  4. Retro 54 4:54
  5. An ear for action 0:29
  6. Graffiti park 4:06
  7. 191st Street 5:30
  8. Stretching at home 0:54
  9. Crossing the Hellgate Bridge 9:19
  10. Death in the downtown subway 3:42
  11. Stay tuned… 0:23
  12. A most violent year 0:57
  13. The desecrated house of sin 3:43
  14. In the 11th hour 3:17


Comments are closed.